The purpose of the T Level Technical Qualification is to ensure students have the knowledge, skills and behaviours needed to progress into skilled employment or higher level technical training relevant to the T Level.




Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*. 


The T Level Technical Qualification comprises two separate components:

The Core:

  • Assessment is one or more written exams and an Employer Set Project, typically taken midway through the course.


The Occupational Specialism:

  • A practical project or assignments, typically taken at the end of the course.


Both Technical Qualification components are assessed at level 3.  Although the assessments may be taken at different points in the course, they assess separate content to a level 3 standard.  

Further information

T Levels are level 3 qualifications, currently available to 16-19 year old students. Applicants are likely to have experience of external assessment, practical assignments and synoptic assessment.


The key issues for Higher Education to consider are:

  • The roll-out of T Levels is phased and currently limited to approved providers. All planned T Levels will be available by 2023.
  • To achieve a T Level grade (Pass, Merit, Distinction, Distinction*) a student must have achieved all components of their T Level.
  • Applicants who do not meet all of the requirements and therefore don’t have an overall grade for their T Level may nevertheless have grades for both the Core and Occupational Specialist in the Techincal Qualification. 

Further information can be found at:

Introduction of T Levels - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)


Links to awarding organisation websites and specifications: