CIH Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services

Last updated
Last verified
  • England
  • Northern Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Wales

This qualification is not listed on the DfE 16 – 19 performance tables.

The Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services is aimed at preparing individuals for work in frontline housing management roles. The qualification aims to:

  • serve core housing worker roles
  • allow a variety of combinations of units to match the core specialist housing functions undertaken at different housing organisations
  • cover functions such as anti-social behaviour, community development repairs and maintenance, tenure, rents, planning and development, and professional practice
  • prepare learners for further study in housing related qualifications at Levels 3 and 4
Education context

Housing management requires specific knowledge and skills and the Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services has been developed to enable individuals to perform specific roles.

Housing management is a broad occupation, so the qualification contains a number of units that can be combined in a variety of ways to meet the requirements of specific roles e.g. community development, income management, anti-social behaviour etc.

The certificate includes details of the units and pathways completed.

Awarding organisation
  • CIH
Qualification code
600/5239/9 (Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services CIH)

The Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services is a modular qualification that requires learners to complete one mandatory unit and three optional units.

Subject areas

Mandatory unit

  • Professional practice skills for housing

Optional units from which learners choose three:

  • Community development
  • Customer service in a housing context
  • Dealing with anti-social behaviour in housing
  • Housing maintenance systems
  • Involving housing service users
  • Managing leasehold tenancies
  • Managing neighbourhoods
  • Occupancy, tenure and lettings
  • Planning and development for housing regeneration
  • Prevention and management of rent arrears
  • Regeneration and renewal
  • Repairs and maintenance in housing organisations
  • The legal framework for housing
  • The social context of housing in the UK
  • Level 3

UK Level 3 Qualification regulated to the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)[1]

A levels are Level 3 qualifications regulated to the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF)[2]

Level 3 is aligned with the  Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) Level 6

[1] The QCF was a credit transfer system which recognised qualifications and units by awarding credits. It has now been withdrawn for all new qualifications.

[2] The RQF is the new system for cataloguing all qualifications regulated by Ofqual, indexing them by level and size.


Pass, Refer, Fail


The mandatory unit is assessed is by an externally set assignment.

Optional units are assessed by internally set assignments that are externally moderated.

Centres design assignments that are related to real world tasks.

Contribution of assessment components to overall grade

To pass the qualification, learners must demonstrate that they have met all learning outcomes and assessment criteria.

Resit arrangements

Learners are allowed to resubmit each internally set assignment twice.

They must resit the whole mandatory unit should they fail to meet the required standard.

Guided/notional learning hours notes

13 credits

UCAS Tariff points

CIH Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services (QCF)

Grade Points
P 8
Key issues for UK HE admissions

The Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services has been delivered in schools since 2014 and there will be applicants for higher education for September 2016 entry onwards with the qualification.

Students usually combine this qualification with other qualifications, such as AS levels, A levels and BTECs.

Timing of assessments/results for learners

Assessment takes place throughout the course, usually at the end of each unit.

Learners receive their result with feedback before completing the next assessment task.

Qualification dates notes

This is a current qualification. There will be a full review of the qualification during 2016.

Reporting and certification information

The Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services is a relatively new qualification and has had 248 certifications to date.

Progression information

Successful students can progress to other housing qualifications such as the Level 3 Certificate in Housing Practice and the Level 4 Certificate in Housing.

The qualification can also support higher education, generally in conjunction with other qualifications.

Delivery of the qualification in schools is usually supported by a housing organisation that provides guest speakers and opportunities to shadow housing management officers in the workplace.